verdon by MN Boyer.jpg
2020-08-17 (5).jpg
20190526_162211_edited.jpg
gr4 lou.png

About Chasteuil

Since 1995 Nancy and Pascal have welcomed travelers to their bed and breakfast inn and today, transformed into a studio and rooms for travelers.

 

Chasteuil, (pop. 20), whose origins date back to the 16th century, is a small hamlet perched on the mountainside at an altitude of 900 meters and well exposed to the south. The hamlet has been restored by its inhabitants in the local architectural tradition. From its picturesque site, it dominates the entrance to the Gorges du Verdon, famous for its Canyon, its hiking trails, its river and whitewater sports, its lakes, and its natural beauty.

 

From the Chasteuil enjoy hiking the GR4 / Grand Randonnée # 4, an important and scenic hiking trail.

 

Grab your binoculars and hike

west, 2.5 hours / 7.9km  towards the perched village of Rougon and reward yourself with a delicious crepe at Le Mur d'Abeilles,  an outdoor restaurant niched in front of a breathtaking panoramic view of the Gorges.

 

From your table, you can see the magnificent flight of the Griffon vultures with a wingspan of 2.5 meters. They have been reintroduced to the canyon in recent years, now there are more than 150.

This year there are several nests above Chasteuil, sometimes we can hear the babies squawking like little baby dinosaurs.

 

Hike 2.5 hours|10km east towards our lovely small town of Castellane on the banks of the Verdon river. The Outdoor market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays in the beautiful Place Marcel Sauvaire square – the heart of Castellane's action.

gr4 pic.jpg

Notre lieu

Depuis 1995, Nancy et Pascal accueillent les voyageurs dans leur chambre d'hôtes, aujourd'hui transformée en studio et chambres.

 

Chasteuil, 20 habitants, dont les origines remontent au XVIe siècle, est un petit hameau perché à flanc de montagne à 900 mètres d'altitude et bien exposé au sud. Le hameau a été restauré par ses habitants dans la tradition architecturale locale. De son site pittoresque, il domine l'entrée des Gorges du Verdon, célèbres pour son Canyon, ses sentiers de randonnée, ses sports de rivière et d'eau vive, ses lacs et sa beauté naturelle.

 

Depuis le Chasteuil, profitez de la randonnée sur le GR4 / Grand Randonnée # 4, un sentier de randonnée important et pittoresque.

 

Prenez vos jumelles et marchez vers l'ouest, 2,5 heures / 7,9 km vers le village perché de Rougon et récompensez-vous avec une délicieuse crêpe au Mur d'Abeilles, un restaurant de plein air niché devant une vue panoramique époustouflante des Gorges.

 

De votre table, vous pourrez voir le magnifique vol des vautours fauves d'une envergure de 2,5 mètres. Ils ont été réintroduits dans le canyon ces dernières années, on en compte aujourd'hui plus de 150. 

Cette année, il y a plusieurs nids au-dessus de Chasteuil, parfois on peut entendre les bébés crier comme des petits dinosaures.

 

Randonnée de 2,5 heures / 10 km vers l'est en direction de notre charmante petite ville de Castellane, sur les rives du Verdon. Le marché en plein air a lieu le mercredi et le samedi sur la belle place Marcel Sauvaire - le cœur de l'action de Castellane.

gite footer.jpg

Contact

Le E-Mail est la meilleure solution

chasteuil.locations@gmail.com 

Pascal Béguin

06 62 22 86 94 - Français

Nancy Herfield

06 63 07 03 87 - English

Gite Château de Chasteuil.com

Chasteuil Studio & Chambres

Village de Chasteuil,

04120 Castellane, France

© 2021 Nancy Herfield  Tous droits réservés.